In the State of Texas, it is illegal to drive a motor vehicle if you have:

  • a blood alcohol content (BAC) in excess of 0.08%,
  • lost use of physical facilities as a result of alcohol or drug consumption, or
  • lost use of their mental faculties as a result of alcohol or drug consumption.

It is also illegal for drivers under the age of 21 to drive with ANY detectable amount of alcohol in their system. If suspected of having alcohol in their system, they can be charged with “DUI” or driving under the influence. Bear in mind, drivers under the age of 21 can also be charged with a DWI depending on the circumstances.

To determine BAC levels, police officers conduct a variety of tests, such as:

  • Breath tests
  • Blood tests
  • Field sobriety tests

Since studies have shown that these can be administered wrong or even give inaccurate results, it is still possible to defend against this evidence with an experienced DWI lawyer.

Always remember, getting arrested for DWI in San Antonio only means that charges have been made against you. You are not guilty at this point. It is your right to defend yourself against these charges and hiring a competent and experienced DWI lawyer like Taylor & Lassen can protect your rights and, in some cases, reduce or even dismiss your charges and fines.

If you have been charged with a DWI in San Antonio, or DUI, it is imperative to get represented by a DWI lawyer immediately. DWI’s and DUI’s in Texas can, unfortunately, end up in steep court fines, court costs, probation, mandatory jail time and endless classes and fees. If you are found guilty of a DWI or DUI, any additional charges can and will carry very strict penalties and even potentially state jail or prison time. You could also find yourself barred from any restaurant or bar that serves alcohol. The best method to defend against DWI charges is to hire a DWI lawyer who knows what to expect in order to best defend your rights.

In addition to handling the criminal issues involving your case, you only have 15 days to request an ALR (Administrative License Revocation) hearing. If you do not, your license will be automatically revoked on the 40th day after the DWI arrest.

This is why it’s imperative to contact a reputable DWI lawyer with experience handling DWI cases in San Antonio. Taylor & Lassen has experience as a prosecutor and as criminal defense. From this experience, they are aware of what to expect and how best to defend your DWI case. Contact the offices of Taylor & Lassen so we may best defend your rights and liberty.

First DWI Arrest

Your first DWI, if convicted, is a Class B Misdemeanor. You can receive a fine up to $2000, jail time of 3 to 180 days, and driver’s license suspension of 90 to 365 days. Many times, this initial offense can be easily dealt with by an experienced DWI lawyer. However, additional circumstances of your DWI – prior convictions, other offenses included in DWI charge, accidents, speeding, bodily harm, etc – will require further strategies to mitigate your circumstances.

Second DWI Arrest

A 2nd DWI carries higher penalties, court costs, jail time and all of the above fees. If convicted of a second DWI, it is a Class A Misdemeanor. You could face a fine of up to $4,000, jail time of at least thirty (30) days and up to one year, and your driver’s license could be suspended for 180 days and up to two (2) years. More than likely, you will have to have an ignition interlocking device on your car if you get a second DWI. To best defend against a second DWI conviction and minimize potential damages, you need to retain an experienced DWI lawyer who can help mitigate your circumstances. Call Taylor & Lassen for an immediate consultation and your best chance for a strategic and winnable defense.

Third DWI Arrest

A 3rd DWI, and anything over a 3rd offense, is a felony in the State of Texas. You face a fine of up to $10,000, can spend up to 2-10 years in prison, and your driver’s license could be suspended for 180 days and up to two (2) years. If you have been charged with a third DWI or DUI, contact Taylor & Lassen immediately. It is crucial to have representation from the early stages of the case.

Regardless of what you are accused of, please keep in mind that these are only charges against you. You are not guilty of anything at this point. By immediately hiring an experienced DWI lawyer, you are giving yourself the best opportunity mitigate your circumstances and reduce damagesCall Taylor & Lassen at (210) 625-6540 and we will aggressively defend your rights.

For more information, take a look at our DWI FAQs page.